For Japan With Love

A part of me wants to block out the devastation unfolding in Japan. The destruction, the lives lost, their world utterly transformed; I would like to pretend it isn’t happening, that it couldn’t happen.

A month ago I cowered under my desk while an ‘earthquake’ rumbled over the intercom at work. I tried to imagine my bookcases coming tumbling down and the windows shattering as I clutched the side of the filing cabinet. I tried to imagine the chaos that would follow, a city in ruins, everything but the essentials becoming absolutely irrelevant.

We’re trying to prepare for the worst, but my mind simply can’t get there.

There is nothing that can prepare you for this. But we can do our best to ease the healing.

I’m digging my head out of the sand today and pulling out my wallet to donate. I hope you will too.

 

 

Thanks to Ever Ours and Utterly Engaged for starting this initiative, and Jo for bringing it to my attention. I’ll be back next week.

 

Posted on March 17, 2011, in Health, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I hear you. To me it is un-fathomable. We were watching a special on New Orleans yesterday and again, I just can’t absorb it.

    So I donate.

Leave a Reply

